1996 SABBA South Australian Championships (DVD)

AUD $29.95

GMV-241-DVD  Open Region DVD  Duration: 180 mins Sample Clip

Held before one of the largest and noisiest audiences in years, the event was a sensational one, especially in quality of competitors.


1996 SABBA South Australian Bodybuilding Championships: Prejudging & Show – Men and Women

Held before one of the largest and noisiest audiences in years, the event was a sensational one, especially in quality of competitors. Nick Jones, Terri Roberts, Mike Buder, Mark Trewartha and Kym Johncock have all represented Australia at the NABBA Universe.

Highlights included: Former Teenage Mr. South Australia winner, NICK JONES winning his class and best presentation and then the overall title in this, his senior debut in South Australia. Craig Petersen presented an outstanding physique and was a very close second to Nick Jones. (Photo rear cover)

GMV’s own JANET BESSON won the Figure title at her first attempt with a superb stage presence and near faultless figure presentation. TERRI ROBERTS was an outstanding second. SHARON HAUSLER won the Women’s Physique Class.

MIKE BUDER and MARK TREWARTHA convincingly won their Open Classes, as did KYM JOHNCOCK in the Masters.  Also of note was the victory by a young TONY GRIFFIN in the Junior Class. Tony went on to win the NABBA Australia some years later, and is the promoter of the 2012 NABBA/WFF Australian Championships in Adelaide.  Other classes included Men’s and Women’s First Timers, Novice Men, Teenage, Juniors and Women’s Physique.

1996 SABBA South Australian Championships Results

Dom Polski Centre, Adelaide, South Australia   15th September, 1996

Overall Men’s Winner and Best Presentation: Nick Jones

Men’s First Timers
1. Peter Welling
2. Jimi Peralta

Men’s Teenage
1. Greg Karotos
2. Aaron Savcic
3. Dung Nguyen

Men’s Junior
1. Tony Griffin
2. Boota Singh
3. Kurt Norris

Men’s Novice
1. Brian Wells
2. Wayne Mattei
3. Paul Mavric
4. Tony Grant

Masters Over 40
1. Kym Johncock
2. Paul Roe

Men’s Open Short Class
1. Nick Jones
2. Craig Petersen
3. Charlie Egan
4. Warrick Williams

Men’s Open Medium Class
1. Michael Buder

Men’s Open Tall Class
1. Mark Trewartha
2. Matthew Papandrea

Women’s Physique
1. Sharon Hausler

Women’s First Timers
1. Toni Gottwald

Women’s Figure
1. Janet Besson
2. Terri Roberts
3. Sandy Wilkinson
4. Kathy Soroka

Women’s Figure Over 35
1. Debra Ross