1989 NABBA Mr. Universe: Show (Download)

AUD $10.00

GMV-099  Digital Download  Duration:  90 mins  Sample Clip

This was the last Universe to be held in the famous Wembley Conference Centre in London. 102 superbly muscled and buffed athletes – the largest field of competitors ever seen at the Universe – gathered from all over the world to battle it out for the top titles. In the AMATEUR DIVISION, the Short Class 3 winner was Mr. America – MAT DUFRESNE.


1989 NABBA Mr. Universe: The Show

This was the last Universe to be held in the famous Wembley Conference Centre in London.   102 superbly muscled and buffed athletes  – the largest field of competitors ever seen at the Universe – gathered from all over the world to battle it out for the top titles.

Photo Gallery from this event

In the AMATEUR DIVISION, the Short Class 3 winner was the current Mr. America – MAT DUFRESNE. He was Mr. Perfection and had it all from his superbly sculptured abs to his perfect aesthetic proportions, symmetry and razor sharp condition.  It was the big year of his career winning the overall title at the Mr. America as well as at the Amateur Mr. Universe.

CASEY KUCHARYK of USA was the Medium Class 2 winner. It was a tough call for the overall title that Casey had to come up against 2 other great stars in Matt Dufresne and Gary Lewer of Australia. I have seen Casey many times over the years and this was his year. He was “ready”, he was super shredded with paper thin skin, and I know he was very disappointed at not taking the overall title.

Photo Galleries

Charles Clairmonte
Ed Kawak
Basil Francis
Casey Kucharyk
Gary Lewer

GARY LEWER of Australia was also in his best ever condition.  He had been coming up each time in the placings at the Universe and doing better every year. Big and muscular with great size, especially in the upper body, Gary dominated Tall Class 1. Gary has charisma as well as a superb physique.


In the Junior Mr. Universe Class (under 21 on the 1st day of the year) it was a very tightly fought battle between the 2 Aussies, MICHAEL MELKSHAM, PETER WALL (Mr. Symmetry) and the ripped young CLINT DYE of England. Massive and ripped Michael finally took the title with predictions of a great future for him.  Peter Wall was a former teenage Mr. Australia.


In the professional division, local English favourite CHARLES CLAIRMONTE beat out the challenge from Olympia competitor and 5 times Mr. Universe winner EDWARD KAWAK of France. This was a 3rd Universe title for Charles, with his huge yet elegant and ripped physique overcoming and out muscling the sheer brutal mass and power of Kawak.

Prior to the evening show we interviewed the famous REG PARK, plus top competitors both men and women.  At the show you will see the posing routines of the top 6 finalists in each class, plus the exciting posedowns and awards.


1       Michael Melksham – Australia
2       Clint Dye – England
3        Peter Wall – Australia
4        Wayne Tancock – England
5        Massimo Senelli – Italy
6        Damien Keyser – France
7        Eli Hana – Israel
8        Curtis Howells – South Africa
9        Lior Golan – Israel

Mr. CLASS 3 
1        Mat Dufresne – USA
2       Robert Wall – England
3        Terry Fisher – England
4        Rainer Gorbracht – West Germany
5        Nick Naylor – England
6        Bruce Leong – Australia
7        Gerard Bibolet – France
8        Rudolph Fernandez – France
9        Peter Van Wellin – Belgium
10      Guido Zambelli – Italy
DNP:  Michael Adamo, Austin Campagne, George Camilleri, Doug Powell.

Mr. CLASS 2 
1        Casey Kucharyk – USA
2       Peter Reid – England
3        Claudio Mostacci – Italy
4        Roger Bartley – England
5        Gunter Osweiller – West Germany
6        Werner Schneider – West Germany
7        Gennaro Ferra – Australia
8        Eduardo De La Asuncion – Spain
9        John Els – South Africa
10       Paul Taylor – South Africa
11       Eddie Van Laere – Belgium
12       Warren Treasure – England
13       Roy Martin – Ireland

Mr. CLASS 1 
1        Gary Lewer – Australia
2       Shaun Davis – England
3        Rocky Foster – England
4        Fausto Ascari – Italy
5        Markus Mueller – West Germany
6        Jacobus Joubert – South Africa
7        Les Rudolf – Australia
8        Manfred Salchner – Australia
9        Kim Joachum – South Africa
10      Donald Mahoney – Australia
DNP:  Patrick Mallough, Ahmed Oudsman, Christopher Slee, Juan Jose Albalat, Jan Van Roy, Alessandro Ardenti.


1        Charles Clairmonte – England
2       Edward Kawak – France
3        Basil Francis – England
4        Marlon Darton – USA
5        Andre Maille – Canada
6        Roy Duval – England
7        Walter O’Malley – Ireland/UK
8        Heinz Horling – West Germany